Posted in Cast Member Chronicles, Out and About in Orlando

Food for Thought

I made yet another trip to the Community Food and Outreach Center to assist in their Cost Share Grocery Program with the Disney VoluntEARs. This has to be one of my favorite places to VoluntEAR. Great people for a great cause.

image

I spent most of my day with a great group of ladies whom I met, many of them are corporate level and we’re great people to talk to. It’s nice to get to know your fellow cast and connect over some Green Bean sorting and idle chit chat.

image

This project means the world to me, because without them during weeks where  my pay isn’t the best and the bills swallow up my wallet, the Cost Share Grocery Program has helped me put food on the table. It’s right there on my bus line and helps me stretch out the food budget a bit.

You do have to be a member and sign up for a membership card, which requires a quick visit to the service desk with some form of income verification (pay stub, bank statement, social security letter, welfare statement, etc.) The cards last anywhere from a few months to two years depending on need and situation. I was able to take a small break today and get my membership card renewed.

image

All in all, today was a very productive day, helping others while tacking on another three hours to the VoluntEARs log, which brings my total to 18.

Twelve more hours until I reach my goal. Up next is A Gift For Teaching in two weeks to sort out school supplies for needy kids and their teachers.

I’m proud to be a part of an amazing community coming together to make a difference. Can’t wait to do more.

image

Leave a Reply

