Posted in Pondering about PTSD

Many questions left unanswered

So without breaking patient confidentiality and without going into too much detail, I just need to vent about my first day in group therapy.

So many questions left unanswered.

How is a group like this going to help my anxiety?

How is going into full detail about my life to a bunch of strangers going to help me?

What kind of ice breaker is “What medications am I on?” Whatever happened to “So what do you do for a living?” Or “How are you feeling?” Do I really want other people to know my business?

And why did the subject of religon take over the group?

This whole thing was batshit nuts. Not what I wanted and nothing good came out of it. And thanks to my new full time benefits not kicking in for a few days, my birthday money was used to pay for my session.

Some birthday present, a round of bullshit story time I didn’t even want to be a part of to begin with.

How is any of this supposed to help me, let alone cure my anxiety? If anything, it’s making it worse.

All I needed was help, but not like this.

Although I have to admit, being on these heavy meds and listening to Bill’s Power Ranger stories makes dealing with this nonsense a lot more entertaining. It’s like one big acid trip. Weeeeeee!

Here is hoping Friday’s session goes better and that my loony meds adjust the way I need them to. As fun and yet awkward this is feeling, I’m hoping this will take the buzz off of the bad vibes I get at work and I can function again.

We shall see.

Leave a Reply

