Posted in Out and About in Orlando

Make M Smile, The Happiest Event in Orlando (Part 2)

Aside from covering the event and giving my journalism skills a go for the first time in awhile, I was assigned to Bounce House duty in the morning. One of my first visitors was a very spunky 12 year old named Cheyenne Fleming, a young girl with Asperger’s Syndrome. Seeing her bounce around with a smiley face balloon in hand made for an amazing picture, with Dad and Mom’s permission, of course.

image
Cheyenne takes a bounce in one of the many bounce houses at Make M Smile

As I got to talking to her parents, I have come to learn that Cheyenne was at Make M Smile for two reasons, to enjoy her status as a VIP and to promote her jewelery business by passing out special edition earrings made exclusiveley for Nathaniel’s Hope.

A 12 year old girl running her own jewlery business? I was intrigued.

A few hours later, I made it back to the Flemings booth to check out Amazing Bead A Rama to learn more about Cheyenne and her love of jewelery making.

While waiting for Cheyenne to come back to the booth, her dad Christopher filled me in on the history of how Amazing Bead A Rama began.

“Cheyenne is a third generation jewelery maker, beading earrings is her specialty. She learned her skills from her mom and grandmother.”

When Cheyenne came back to the booth, she was full of happy spirit, sucking the air out of a helium balloon and, upon realizing I was about to interview her, said “Excuse my voice. I like making other kids happy with my squeaky voice.”

When asked about her craft, she went on to explain, “I was about 9 when my mom taught me how to make my own jewelry and was hooked. It takes practice, but it’s pretty easy to do. I make a lot of different things, like bracelets and necklaces too.”

When asked about the future, her aspirations are beyond amazing. “I wanted to be a marine biologist, but I also want to be a painter since I like to paint. But what would be cool is if I can be a voice actor. I like voice acting, I could do a great Five Nights At Freddy’s impression.”

When asked about what advice she would give to other kids with different needs wanting to start their own business or reach their goals, her answer blew me away

“Never back down! Always stay determined.”

image

Cheyenne’s exclusive design for Nathaniel’s Hope. Check out her Etsy store for more designs here.

image

Wait, where are you going? There is more to explore at Make M Smile. Stay tuned for my last piece on this amazing event.

Leave a Reply

