Posted in Albinism, Blindness, and Me

The (in)Accessibility of Job Hunting 

It’s been several years now since I had to worry about finding work at a fast pace. The last six years of my life were constant in work, the job hunt more of a window shopping experience in hopes of finding that dream come true scenario. 

Since that “dream come true” has come to an abrupt end, the clock is ticking for finding something new, something I know will be stable. But as a person with disabilities, the hunt gets more buried in obstacles. Not only do I live in a “Right to Work” state, where equal opprotunity and job security are more of a joke than reality, but the mere act of applying for a job via the online method has hindered my ability to even complete an app before it crashes. 

Being legally blind, I have found my smart phone to be my only tool to the internet, I can move it closer to my face and could use Google dictation if need be to get what I need done. I can zoom in and out to make the app a lot easier to read. Sounds easy, right?

Except a good chunk of applications I have come across require a laptop to complete, too much Java, illegible captcha, and layers upon layers of password accounts keep my phone and me from these precious applications that could potentially lead me to a successful and meaningful job. 

And I know what you’re thinking, go to the library and job search there. 

Except not all computers are equipped with the large print accessibility I need to work with, much less offer a long amount of time to fill anything out properly. 

And paper applications? As small as they were in print, they were a more reliable source of satisfaction, knowing your information was handed to a real live person and not a robot. From my job search the last week, only two places allowed me to do a paper app. The one in such a dimly lit bar, my bestie had to hold my cellphone up with the flashlight on to read it (maybe I lost kudo points for looking like a nut job filling out an app like that, since I still haven’t heard anything back. )

The job search is just not an easy thing for many, it’s even harder for people like me. 

Despite looking like a jack ass in the dark with my cellphone flashlight on and most likely reading the aftermath that resembles a kindergarten mess, I will have you know I can navigate a fairly complicated ticketing system with my eyes closed, can count money and change with great accuracy, and figure out a decent amount of glitches when tickets and reservations go in hiding. I can stock shelves, build displays, teach and care for the severely disabled, work in customer service settings, and so much more. 

There really is more than what meets the eye, or the database where my info is just chilling at, hoping it finds the right algorithm that will lead to someone’s inbox. 

If only there were more accessibility to make things happen better. But until then, I’ll reset that password for Toys R Us one more time, crack open the tablet in hopes GameStop will finally load my resume in without crashing, and Pier One Imports will allow me to do a different version of their personality test since my phone and it’s software are not good friends. 

One thought on “The (in)Accessibility of Job Hunting 

Leave a Reply

