Posted in Uncategorized

Entering the Realm Of Public Speaking

In a few short days, I will be taking all I learned from my life experiences, the lessons Bill taught me in self advocacy, and wisdom obtained in years of trial and error and combining that into an hour long presentation. 

My journey has been documented in my writing and has reached an insane amount of people over the internet in just a short amount of time. It’s a blessing and a curse, happy people are facisnated with my story, but fearful that it might be hurting a few good people, one being Bill.

This last week has taught me a lot about my writing and my accidental moments of coming off as too ableist, even though my professional blog buddies think otherwise. Being in a relationship of our magnitude brings a weird vibe that crosses in normal to caregiver to everything in between. And as far as I know, I’m the only one currently in a situation like this, aside from those who had a partner in an accident and they refuse to break up, and even that doesn’t come close. 

This crazy journey I am on almost came to an end this week over some miscommunication regarding what I was going to present. But with a lot of support from staff and others, we worked out the kinks and I’m sure it’s going to be a great presentation none the less. Lessons learned and all.

It’s been about seven or eight years since I had to give class presentations to large groups of people, so I do feel a tad rusty. But like my mom told me, all those years of training for this moment has finally paid off.

I’m hoping by using this experience, I can perfect my work to do more professional presentations about a variety of different subjects related to disability advocacy and awareness. I’m happy and fortunate to be able to go back to the place where I learned to be a self advocate and use that as a launching site. It’s a group of people I’m familiar with so I know I’ll be in good hands.

This journey has taught me several things in perfecting my work so that everybody could feel inspired in some form or another without any hurt feelings. I’m glad I have Bill on my side in all this. I just hope I can make them proud.

More importantly, I’m hoping I can make myself proud as well. 

Leave a Reply

