Posted in Mighty Madness, Out of State Adventures, The Billy Blogs

Adventures in Self Advocacy

Last week was a week I have been waiting for and working on for the last three months, my first round of public speaking a success despite some minor technical issues. 

The Advocates in Action Statewide Self Advocacy conference is one not to be missed.Over 300 people with various disabilities came together to offer insight on how to gain and maintain their independence and speak up for themselves. I’m so fortunate to be a part of it.

With some backing from The Mighty when it came to the development of my presentation, I shared my story on finding my voice through Bill and my writing, reaching thousands from around the world online through blogging and offering advice in sharing their own stories through a variety of mediums, including Story Corps. 

With Bill by my side like he was 10 years ago when he tricked me into presenting a shoebox of my favorite things, I followed through on my promise to reach as many people as possible. Although my audience was small in comparison to other presentations, I made it work, and before you know it, I had an almost full house. 

Needless to say, it was an honor to make it this far in my travels as a writer and I’m very fortunate to be able to see life come full circle, going from a girl with no confidence to someone who can wing a fun and engaging presentation with only a tablet and the infamous updated shoebox  

Special thanks to Deb from Advocates in Action, Vicki from The Mighty,fellow presenters Bob and Katie, Dawn from the leadership class, my donors to the GoFundMe account, my family, Bill, and all of my followers for making this dream a reality. I am hoping to expand my presenting to other venues soon and am already working on a marriage equality project with Bill, which should hopefully go live by next year’s event. 

The adventure is just beigining.

Leave a Reply

