Posted in Cast Member Chronicles, Lights, Camera, Universal!

Marching On

Today was the day I’ve been waiting for since August. I had my interview with Universal Orlando and needless to say, I nailed it.

It took several months because my first application didn’t quite go through. But I stuck it out, and well, here I am.

My career path this time is relying mostly on seasonal work, since I signed up for both the Christmas event and the Mardi Gras event. This will then lead on to other things, most likely event guide. 

As a kid, I always wanted to march in the parade, especially the Macy’s one in New York City. What makes this opportunity surreal for me is that I will be marching real Macy’s balloons from the Thanksgiving parade in our parade here at the resort. Childhood dream complete. 

Of course, an interview wouldn’t be complete without questions regarding my disability. But luckily I was able to convince them that I’m more than just a diagnosis and that I had an opportunity to do this  last year as a guest experience, which I  succeeded in without any hassle.

The parade usually happens at night, so I have no worries in dealing with direct sunlight. Once I told her I could see perfectly in the dark, the deal was done.

I am so thankful to be a part of a company that looks beyond my diagnosis and gives me an opportunity to shine.

Now what does this mean for Disney? To tell you the truth, I’m not so sure yet. They still haven’t put me through the recast process yet and there’s no signs from my leaders when it comes to an update on my progress. Basically put, this part of my journey might be done for now. Off to new and better things.

When and if should a recast happen, I’m willing to work it out so I could have the best of both worlds. 

But it’s all in the Mouse’s hands for now.

If it has to come down to me leaving, rest assured I could try again in six months. Like Mickey Mouse said “C ya real soon.” Goodbyes don’t mean forever. This goodbye might be the beginning of something special. 

But until then, I can rest easy knowing that I have a job doing something I love.

Like the balloons I’ll be carrying, hope floats. 

And I got a lot of hope in my heart that all will work out fine.

Leave a Reply

