Posted in Overcoming Adversity, The Billy Blogs

Feelings of Fifty

Tomorrow is a day I have been dreading for all the wrong reasons ever since my college days, the day Billy, my best friend, mentor, and life partner turns 50 years old. 

An age he himself told me that he wouldn’t make it to. 

With a condition like Cerebral Palsy, aging can be a challenge, more so than usual. It seems like what becomes of someone in ten years time takes him less than a year. I’m not even kidding. He went from a mostly independent guy to requiring more medical care and equipment than I have ever seen him have ever. And honestly, it scares me.

But then I look at the last two trips I took this year, and I learn that he has defeated all odds against him to even get to this point. He has his own apartment, a job, many awards and merit under his belt from all the self advocacy work he has done over the years. Doctors said he wouldn’t make it this far, but he proved them all wrong. 

Billy has made me realize that every day is a gift, and that for every negative thing that happens in our lives always brings something positive into the mix. He has taught me how to see the world in a new light, and has helped ne grow into a strong woman whose words you’re reading now. Without his wisdom and compassion, I wouldn’t even be blogging, much less feel comfortable having my life story published for the world to see.

Fifty to me doesn’t sound like a bad place to be. Although I have 19 more years to go before I even get to that point, watching him take what life has given him and running with it makes me see that the only thing that can stop you is yourself.

Age is just a number. And life is what you make it.

When I get to that point in my life, I want to go at it like Billy. Full force, no holding back. 

But why wait until I’m 50 when I can start now?

Thank you Sunshine for spending 11 of your 50 years by my side. I wish you many more years to come. Keep changing the world and aiming for the stars. Always have a smile on your face, and never give up.

It’s because  of you, I believe. 

One thought on “Feelings of Fifty

  1. Oh What a lovely post, Happy Birthday to Billy. I turned 50 last year (November 26th) and it does feel like such a milestone. Even more so when you have a disability to contend with.

    Like

Leave a Reply

