Posted in Albinism, Blindness, and Me

To The Hiring Manager at the Job Interview 

Why, hello there.

First off, I wanted to say thank you for inviting me to this interview. Whether it’s the fact that Florida is a Right to Work state or the economy is a bit hiccuppy, an interview for me only happens once in a blue moon.

You see, although my resume is fairly decent with a variety of jobs and internships ranging from retail, special education, and hospitality, what you don’t see is the struggle each job took me on to get it.

For starters, I am disabled. Legally blind to be exact.

Woah, woah, woah, I see that Red Pen of Death about ready to take a dance on your clipboard. Hear me out for just a moment.

Despite my physical limitations, I am a fast learner capable of more than you know. What my eyes don’t see, my adaptive equipment via my magnifier can pick up the rest. Since my eyes aren’t super sharp, I tend to be more careful in my work, so it’s done right the first time. Although debilitating is it may be, I see my disability more of an advantage. I find ways to work around the obstacles laid ahead of me. To me, sitting on the sidelines is not an option. I give it my all every single day, putting the people I serve first and foremost before anyone else. 

For each job I had in the past I have faced immense amounts of ableism, so much to the point of not being able to advance like my peers or being let go because fate was lost in me. But despite all I have been through, we can all agree that I refuse to live a life unfulfilled. I believe everybody no matter what has the right to reach their goal and follow their dreams.

My hope Is that you share the same mindset as I do.

I came to your company in hopes of a better life and a potential career. I am more than just a diagnosis, tax write off, or charity case. I am just a 30-something trying to make a better life for myself. 

Where you see weakness, I see strength. Where you see inconvenience, I see me adapting to the needs of your company. Where you see incapable I see an endless road of possibilities.

If you give me a chance, I promise I won’t let you down. I will work hard everyday to prove to you that I am something worth keeping around. It’s a fact that people  with disabilities are your most loyal asset to your company, it’s because we don’t get as many opportunities as other people, we are thankful for what we have, and we don’t want that taken away. .

I hope you find it in your heart to look past my diagnosis and see the potential I bring to the table.

I promise I won’t let you down. 

Sincerly,

Mandy 

Leave a Reply

