Posted in Nerdy and Nifty

Let Me Introduce Myshelf- Part 4, The Small Things In Life

After me and Bill broke up, I needed to fill that void and keep my mind occupied. Little did I know my latest obsession would be something as silly as Shopkins.

Yes, Shopkins, those teeny tiny little figures of grocery items with cute little faces every 4 year old in the world goes nuts over. Guess I’m about 28 years too old to be collecting them, but honestly, who really cares?

There’s something about these little figures that just puts a smile on my face. I mostly collect for the sake of the hunt, that thrill you get when you open an egg or recipe book and find one you don’t have yet. Going down the wormhole with Lucy Juicebox and Karen Carrot never felt so fun, no wonder people make those damn YouTube unboxing videos, which I have to admit, I am obsessed with. You never know what you’re going to find next. 

They’re usually cheap, about $3 for a two pack, my reward for making it through the week, although sometimes I do allow a splurge and snag a bigger set. Cheap thrills are very much needed these days. Especially since money is tight but you need to scratch that itch.

I have no plans in going too deep into the collection, I am not giving in to the hype of the Shoppies Dolls or the Happy Places doll houses, mostly due to space issues and the fact I need to focus more on my real house needs before any miniature ones. For now I appreciate the little things, for keeping my mind occupied and giving me something to look forward to.Because adulting is hard, let’s get our Shopkins on. 

“Let Me Introduce Myshelf” is  an ongoing series about the meaning behind my collectibles. You can read it from the beginning here

Leave a Reply

