Posted in Lights, Camera, Universal!, Nerdy and Nifty, Out and About in Orlando

Let’s Hear It For Jimmy!

Ever since I was little, I always wanted to attend a taping of a TV show first hand. A few years ago, I was able to do the TODAY Show, and this week, I was able to do the Tonight Show. Might as well complete the NBC talk show cycle, right?

My first day wasn’t all fun and games (okay, that’s kind of a lie.) It was actually kind of fun.I got to work the event as an extra hours event guide, since me working the parades somehow made me eligible for special events and some productions, despite not being fully trained. The good thing about this was that I was able to watch the production surrounding the new ride as it was happening, more specifically, this segment with Blake Shelton. Although my job was to keep people from taking pictures of the taping, it was pretty hard not to fan girl out. 

After work was over, I was able to take a quick shower and head off to the concert. Surprisingly, I was able to get pretty close up to the front, even though I was the last person in the holding pen. Not too shabby.

Despite my crappy budget phone, I was still able to get a decent picture of Blake in his hunky country glory. And the added bonus of Jimmy and Blake performing a mash up of random songs at the end made the night even more special. My phone died before then, but you can check out this video by YouTuber Amandahope1981. It was quite a treat to see these two have a little fun.

The next day was a day of rest, as I didn’t wander into the park until about 5:30pm. By then, Jimmy was in the middle of his monologue filming in the Blue Man Group theater (I wasn’t lucky enough to grab tickets) and he was nowhere in sight. But at least I was able to hang out with Hashtag the Panda for a bit. Here we are, channeling our inner Frankenstein. 

After playing with a panda for a bit, I found myself back in the pen for the next concert, Flo-Rida, 99 Percent, and The Roots. 

A few minutes before they opened up the pen, there was a Jimmy Fallon sighting, and the crowd went nuts. People in the pen ran out to chase Jimmy, just as they cleared out, we got released into the music plaza.

Hello, front row!

Never thought in a million years, I would be front row for anything. For a legally blind nerd like me, this is a dream come true. 

The spot I had for Flo’s performance of “Cake” made way for some great close ups of Fallon and the gang in action. 

Well, it’s the dawn of the third day of my Fallon Journey, and I found myself in the “nosebleeds” of grand opening day. Also known as general admission. There was a sweepstakes for the VIP access to the red carpet, and despite entering every single team member and random Facebook giveaway I could find, I was unsuccessful. 

But that still wasn’t necessary a bad thing.

The only saving grace was being able to spot Higgins and The Roots from atop a parade float. That sort of counts, right?

Listening to Jimmy give his speech prior to cutting the ribbon was nothing short of touching. You could almost hear him trying not to cry as he thanked his family and the team members who worked to make his dream a reality. The story behind the ride started off with rejection from the creative director for the parks, Mark Woodbury six years ago. After a few years passed and Jimmy got promoted to the Tonight Show, his idea for a ride that pays tribute to New York City was resurrected and Race Through New York was born. 

Proof that second chances do exist and that great ideas never die.

As I was leaving the area, something told me to go back.I don’t know why I chose to do this, since Jimmy and the gang were heading backstage and nothing special or exciting was happening.

And then I bumped into Tim Tracker, a well known YouTuber, and one of my favorites. 

Guess fate works in mysterious ways.

Needless to say, this week has been one of the best weeks of my life. As much as I wanted to leave Florida behind after the events that unfolded the last few months, I have come to the conclusion that I have indeed found my home. I am beyond thankful for all the amazing opprotunities I have had with Universal and can’t wait to see what my next adventure holds for me at Volcano Bay.

Leave a Reply

