Posted in Cast Member Chronicles, Nerdy and Nifty

Let Me Introduce Myshelf- Part 7, Of (Little) Mice and Men

When I first moved down here, I didn’t have any furniture and the walls were pretty bland. The only thing I had was a small ledge above my sliding glass door.

So one day, when I was working the Disney gift shop on International Drive, it dawned on me. These little Vinylmation guys would look cute up there.

And well, a collection was born.

The Collection got so big, it actually stretches among three different shelves in 3 different places of the apartment. I have some on the top shelf of what I called the Tower of Power, I have some hanging out in the coffee bar near the Keurig, and I have others on the TV stand.

Vinylmations were an easy little collection to start up with. For about $3 to $5 each at the shop I worked at, I would be able to bring home a little Mickey Mouse figure painted in different ways to fancy up the bare ledger of my apartment. When I first started this collection, Walt Disney World Resort used to allow trading these figures the same way they trade the pins. That was another way for my collection to expand. Sadly, they put an end to the trading, but upon doing that, I was able for a short time to purchase some of Disney’s supply of trading vinyls at The Cast Connection store, a special shop for cast members only. A dollar a vinyl? Can’t beat that.

Wait a minute,what the heck are those little things in the bottom right corner?

For a short time, Universal Orlando resort tried the jump on the vinyl trading bandwagon with their creation the U-Mini or Uni-Mini. These figures were shaped more like a monkey or like the item they were representing, like the squarepants pineapple man. Although they still sell them today, it just never caught on as the next big thing. 

To be honest, I would have loved to see them expand on it more, like a mini Jimmy Fallon or a little baby Terminator.

As of now, Since I no longer work on Disney property, the days of collecting Vinylmations have pretty much come to an end and  the focus has been replaced by my quest for Funko Pops. You’ll see them in the next post.

“Let Me Introduce Myshelf” is  an ongoing series about the meaning behind my collectibles. You can read it from the beginning here

One thought on “Let Me Introduce Myshelf- Part 7, Of (Little) Mice and Men

Leave a Reply

