Posted in Uncategorized

A Note To My New Fellow Co-Workers

Hey guys,

You may not know me, for I didn’t have the same track of training as you had. You know how crazy opening a theme park can be, paperwork gets lost and trainings get penciled in. But eh.

My name is Mandy, I have prided myself on my love and knowledge of theme parks, so much so, that I decided to give up everything I had, including a teaching assistant job, to move down here from Philadelphia. I worked at Disney for three and a half years, selling theme park tickets in some form or another in both a retail enviroment and Epcot. I have seen parks get full to capacity, dealt with guests threatening to kill me, made magic and miracles happen for Make A Wish kids, and tried to make dismal moments in the vacation planning process a lot less stressful. Helping people is been the cornerstone of everything I try to accomplish everyday, despite my challenges.

I might look a litle slow, I might not make the best eye contact, and I might even mistake you as someone else. You might think less of me since right now I’m not an equal to you in the booth as of yet. 

I have a condition called Autosomal Recessive Ocular Albinism, basically it’s a clusterfudge of anything and everything that ruins both my ability to see and my ability to differentiate faces and small details. I’m also light sensitive so sunlight and fluorescents give me migraines. My eyes dance around due to nystagmus, it’s my brain’s way of trying to keep focus in a world that basically looks like a crappy cell phone camera photo from 2005, pixelated and blurry. 

Despite all this, I am intelligent and a fast learner. Once I get a visual layout of everything, I can pick up new things in a flash (a legally blind visual learner, how ironic.) I have bifocals and a digital magnifier that helps with the small details a vacation planner needs to, well, vacation plan. 

I am also the kind of person who needs things to do in order to be happy. When I’m standing in a spot with no interaction or pet project to do, I get grouchy. So you might see me doodle or fidget around, even clean or make idol chat with guests. If you see me like that, I could really use something to do, even if it’s grabbing you a water or helping you restock something. Greeter jobs are not my cup of tea. But I can manage as long as I am treated the same as anyone else and not down talked to like an infant. I may not be your equal now, but in due time, I will be. I didn’t do all this pass sales training for nothing, nor has this been my first rodeo. 

I may not be pretty or perfect enough to mingle with the in-crowd, nor do I speak many languages to converse wth everyone, but I have full respect for each person, guest and team member alike. We all have our backstories and we all have our differences, and that’s what makes us part of this amazing opening team. All I ask is the same respect in return. You don’t have to be my friend, nor do you have to agree with me on anything related or unrelated to this job. But all I ask is to be treated like anyone else, to be valued like anyone else, and to not let my disability tell you otherwise. Unless you are management, I kindly ask for you to talk to me as an EQUAL. If you have an issue, let’s discuss this like adults. If you see me doing something wrong, a simple offer of “Let me help.” would do the trick instead of taking over any situation. You may have experience, so do I. Let’s talk about it and share our experiences as a team. 

I’m also not asking for pity by any means. NEVER assume my lack of abilities. I may not get everything right away, but that’s because this route to get here with you all didn’t take the course it should have. Be patient with me is all I ask. But also give me a chance to prove that worth. You’ll be surprised of what I am capable of.

I’m glad to take this journey with you, even though I’m in an odd situation right now. I hope in writing this letter, it clears up some misconceptions of who I am and what I am about, and in return I can give the best guest experience possible as a vacation planner…Just like you.

Let’s get through this opening weekend together and beyond, hand in hand.

Your fellow team member,

Mandy

Leave a Reply

