Let Me Introduce Myshelf- Part 6, Anime, Blind Bags, and Other Shenanigans 

My mind attracts itself to random stuff in mysterious ways, my likes are spread throughout an array of randomness that can only be tied in to each other as the cute, the small, and the WTF?

One shelf in particular holds true to this, and that’s the shelf above my bed. Let’s start from the top, shall we?

The top of this shelf houses the weird and the random. A Poppy Troll plush keeps a little Minecraft Creeper company amongst a Wat-Ahhh bottle I found at an Asian market once. The water was nasty, but the packaging made me laugh.I also have an Amanda Coke bottle from when they did the Share a Coke promotion…so I guess I sort of have a drink bottle collection now? Maybe?

Behind the bottles are home to some carded 90’s Toys, a Reboot figure and a Jetsoms Movie watch set with the little fluffy baby aliens. I forget their names but I always wanted one as a pet.

Also placed atop the shelf is my Fear Factor Live “trophy cup” from when I ate some bugs and rotten seafood and a Bubbha The Redneck Werewolf DVD signed by the creator Mitch Hyman, a great friend from my many years at the cons I work at. 

I am a fan of DreamWorks Home, an adorable movie about an alien who doesn’t belong with his kind and befriends a girl who is looking for her mother. Jim Parsons is one of my favorite actors and his portrayal of Oh always brings a smile to my face.

Amongst my Hello Kittys sits a large Catbug and Impossabear from Bravest Warriors. They were too big to fit into my Catbug shelf, so they are exploring parts unknown in the meantime.

Below them houses some of my art vynls, random TokiDoki, Kidrobot, and Sunny Angels figures that don’t quite fit in with my Funkos. These guys were found in a shop at CityWalk called P!Q, pronounced Pick. I love this store for the randomness. It’s as if my brain manifested into a gift shop.

I have a couple Yo Kai Watch figures. Jimbanyan, the little orange kitty, has a pretty dark back story for a kid’s show, and since I love cats, his origin story stuck with me. Google it, but be sure to grab a Kleenex.

Speaking of cats, here is the rest of my Catbug belongings. The hat and hand stitched felt doll were made by a local woman who shows up at Megacon every year.For the life of me, I can’t remember her name. But once you see her booth, you’ll fall in love with what she can make.

Of course it wouldn’t be Legally Blind Bagged without a few Blind Bag things. A majority of these finds are Japanese Imports, Gatchapan, and the slightly pathetic American version known as the gumball machine. Sailor Moon and Attack on Titan are just two of my favorite animes and my favorite finds whenever I go to conventions. The manga for Attack on Titan is autographed by the American voice cast, a random gift from RJ when we broke up years ago from when he worked OmniCon. Now you know why I keep them around. He is my geek enabler.

What Japanese goodie infested shelf wouldn’t be complete without a couple Disney Tsum Tsum plushies and mini figs? I used to play the game a lot of my old phone, until I had the downgrade as a last minute repair to something with very little memory. They’re still cute though and really cheap to grab when finances allow.

Last but not least on this journey is the shelf of bootleg Pokemon. Our local comic book store Coliseum of Comics has a variety of small little trinkets in cookie jars, these little guys are about $0.35 a piece and are just adorable. There are also a few Pokemon Happy Meal toys sprinkled throughout from my finds at flea markets. Those are the big guys at the back of the shelf chilling with an Amanda Coke can and a Ronald McDonald autograph from the year 2000. 

Wow, that was a doozy. But no threat, there’s plenty more coming your way soon. 

“Let Me Introduce Myshelf” is  an ongoing series about the meaning behind my collectibles. You can read it from the beginning here

Leave a comment